This article covers the details of how Diffusion Cloud billing works and how you can manage your billing settings.
Diffusion Cloud has two subscription plans: Free and Business. Both plans provide exactly the same functionality; the Free plan has no cost and imposes certain limits on usage, while the Business plan removes all caps, but charges a usage fee. Only the Business plan requires you to provide credit card details at the time of signup.
Usage fees in Diffusion Cloud are simple and transparent. Business plan customers will be charged against two metrics:
Messages used: $0.99 per million messages
Peak concurrent connections: $0.01 per peak concurrent connection
A message is defined as 2KiB of data. For example, if you update a topic with a 4KiB payload, that would count as 2 messages. Bear in mind that, because of Diffusion's unique delta streaming, even large payloads will be sent in as small a form as possible, helping you keep costs under control.
Peak concurrent connections are defined as the single highest number of concurrent connections within a billing cycle. For example, if during a billing cycle you have 10,000 connections to your service but the maximum number connected at the same time was 1000, then you would be charged $10.00.
You can view both of these metrics within the Diffusion Cloud dashboard, under your service's Usage tab.
Minimum usage fee
There is a minimum usage fee of $49 for Business plan subscriptions. This is counted as a pre-pay towards normal usage fees. For example:
- If you incurred $40 worth of message/connection usage fees within a single billing cycle, you would be invoiced for $49.
- If you incurred $50 worth of message/connection usage fees within a single billing cycle, you would be invoiced for $50.
Subscriptions to Diffusion Cloud services are perpetually recurring until you decide to cancel your service, delete your account, or your service/account are otherwise terminated according to our Terms of Service. You can cancel your service at any time during a billing cycle, and will only be charged for usage up to the time of cancellation or the minimum usage fee, whichever is greater.
The billing cycle for Diffusion Cloud is every month, based on the date of your signup. For example, if you create a Business tier subscription on June 13th, your first invoice will be charged on July 13th, with costs calculated from the preceding month's usage. If you decide to downgrade or cancel your subscription, you will be invoiced at that point, and will then no longer be charged.
Billing details & Payment processing
Diffusion Cloud uses Stripe to collect billing details and process all card transactions. No billing information is retained within Diffusion Cloud's systems. If you need to change your billing information, you can do so from the Billing tab in the Diffusion Cloud dashboard. Here you can view past invoices, and a link is provided for you to securely update your billing details within our payment provider.
If you have any further questions about Diffusion Cloud's billing model, please contact firstname.lastname@example.org, or get in touch via our chat window.