The Security.store and SystemAuthentication.store files are used to configure user security roles and how they are assigned.
In previous versions of Diffusion, the working copies of these files were stored in the etc directory within a Diffusion installation.
As of version 6.3, the working copies are in the persistence directory and the files in etc are provided as initial examples. If the server has not yet been started, there will be no files in persistence. On first startup, the files in etc are copied into persistence.
The files are human-readable and editable, but we recommend that you have clients make updates via the API rather than editing these files directly.
If the files are edited while the server is running, the changes will not be applied until a restart, and could be overwritten by changes made by clients via the API.
If you are using replication, avoid editing these files.